A driving under the influence (DUI) conviction can cost you in many ways. A negative impact on your reputation, jail time and potentially losing your vehicle are all possible consequences. Another significant burden of being convicted of drunk driving is the heavy financial cost you will endure. You need to know how much a DUI will cost and how to defend yourself.
All penalties associated with a DUI conviction are meant to be punitive. In Nevada, there can even be a heavy cost associated with your first DUI offense, emphasizing your need for an attorney from the start. These penalties increase in severity if you receive additional DUI convictions.
If you are convicted of DUI, you may lose money for some or all of the following:
- Fines associated directly with the DUI
- Increased insurance premiums
- Ignition interlock device
- Lost work time
- Lost license
How Much Will My Specific DUI Cost?
The fines that are levied against you for DUI can vary greatly. In Nevada, as in most states, the penalties and costs continue to increase. A second DUI offense is more costly than a first DUI offense. The cost increase is even more dramatic for a third DUI conviction.
The fines for each offense are as follows:
- First offense: $400 to $1,000
- Second offense: $750 to $1,000
- Third offense: $2,000 to $5,000
The exact amount you pay is determined by various factors such as blood alcohol content (BAC), prior convictions and other characteristics such as a DUI causing injury or death. In addition to the fines, there will be jail time. The more DUI convictions you have, the longer your jail sentence will be. A third DUI conviction is a felony and may result in penalties that include jail time up to six years in prison.
Fines Are Not The Only Cost
In addition to the fines detailed above, there will be other costs associated with a DUI conviction. Insurance companies may raise your car insurance premiums. If you have multiple DUI convictions, insurance companies may drop your policy all together.
In Nevada, a BAC above .18 or a third DUI conviction means you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle when you are released from jail. You may be required to have the device for up to three years. You will have to pay to have the device installed and you will have to pay to maintain the system each month. It can cost up to $200 for installation and monthly maintenance.
If you spend a significant amount of time in jail, you will not be able to go to work. This could lead to lost wages or even loss of employment. A DUI conviction in Nevada can result in a revocation of your license for some period of time.
Penalties and BAC limits for commercial drivers are even more severe than for non-commercial drivers. A DUI conviction is not only serious, it’s costly. Finding a Las Vegas DUI lawyer familiar with the court process can help you avoid costs like these.